Save $300 on Private Tutoring and PLUS courses

Copy

Save $200 on Live Online, In Person, and Self-Paced

Copy


*Offer: $300 off applies to MCAT® Private Tutoring, In Person PLUS, Live Online PLUS, and Self-Paced PLUS. $200 off applies to In Person, Live Online, and Self-Paced. All offers are for new enrollments only from October 14, 2019 through October 21, 2019 midnight PT. Cannot be combined with any other promotion or offer.

It's registration week. Save big with $300 off MCAT® prep*.

Ends 10/21.

Offer ends in

LEARN MORE

Skip to Main Content

2020 MCAT Test Dates and Score Release Dates

For MCAT registration, scheduling, or test location questions, contact the MCAT Program Office at:

Phone: 202-828-0690
aamc.org/mcat

2020 MCAT Test Date (all exams start at 8 a.m.)

Score Release Date

Friday, January 17, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Saturday, March 14, 2020

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Friday, March 27, 2020

Friday, May 1, 2020

Saturday, April 4, 2020

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Friday, April 24, 2020

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Friday, May 15, 2020

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Saturday, May 16, 2020

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Friday, May 29, 2020

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Friday, June 5, 2020

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Friday, June 19, 2020

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Saturday, July 18, 2020

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Friday, July 31, 2020

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Saturday, August 1, 2020

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Friday, August 7, 2020

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Saturday, August 8, 2020

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Friday, August 14, 2020

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Saturday, August 29, 2020

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Friday, September 4, 2020

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Friday, September 11, 2020

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

2019 MCAT Test Dates and Score Release Dates

For MCAT registration, scheduling, or test location questions, contact the MCAT Program Office at:

Phone: 202-828-0690
aamc.org/mcat

2019 MCAT Test Date (all exams start at 8 a.m.)

Score Release Date

Friday, January 18, 2019

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Friday, March 15, 2019

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Friday, March 29, 2019

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Friday, April 5, 2019

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Saturday, April 6, 2019

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Friday, May 24, 2019

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Friday, May 31, 2019

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Saturday, June 1, 2019

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Saturday, June 15, 2019

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Friday, June 28, 2019

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Saturday, June 29, 2019

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Saturday, July 13, 2019

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Friday, July 19, 2019

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Saturday, July 20, 2019

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Friday, August 2, 2019

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Friday, August 9, 2019

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Saturday, August 17, 2019

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Friday, August 30, 2019

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Saturday, August 31, 2019

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Friday, September 6, 2019

Tuesday, October 8, 2019

Friday, September 13, 2019

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

A Note on Early MCAT Registration—and What You Need to Do to Register

With so many MCAT test dates coming up, you may be tempted to put MCAT registration on the back burner, but don’t fall into that trap. Lots of longer-term decisions—like when to schedule your test prep—depend on your MCAT test date. So taking the time now to determine your test date and register for the MCAT can put you ahead of the game and help you develop a strong study plan.

In addition to exact instructions on how to register for the MCAT, the AAMC also offers some tips to help you make sure MCAT registration goes off without a hitch:

  • Know when registration opens for your desired test dates.
  • Determine your top three testing locations in advance.
  • Have your government-issued ID available at the time of MCAT registration, make sure it is valid, and use the same one as your ID on MCAT Test Day.

When to take the MCAT

Selecting the best date to take the MCAT is an important decision. You will want to make sure you give yourself adequate time to prepare for the exam, yet select a date that gives you the best advantage in the admissions cycle. Ideally, you will want to budget between 300 and 350 hours in total for your MCAT preparation, this includes your content review, lots of question practice, and of course time to take and review full-length exams. Depending on how much time you have to study each week, this will mean spending 3 to 5 months studying for the MCAT. If your class load or workload allows, testing in January is a good option, as you can complete the MCAT, and then shift focus to the other aspects of the medical school admissions application. But this will mean starting your preparation in the fall, and studying through the winter holidays. If you want to spread your preparation out, then the spring test dates of March, April, and May are a good choice. These test dates still allow you to have your MCAT complete before submitting your primary application in June. However, it is perfectly acceptable to test in June and throughout the summer. Just remember, you will be balancing not only your MCAT preparation, but also your applications, so you will want to budget adequate time to do so. The most important thing to consider is that you want to take the MCAT when you will be the most prepared, do not rush into a test date just to get the test out of the way. Build a solid plan, and stick to it. Kaplan can help you map out your schedule for studying for the MCAT. 

How to register for the MCAT

Registration for the MCAT is available through aamc.org. Registration for the January through June test dates usually opens in October, with the summer test dates opening in February. Seats fill up quickly for the MCAT, so register early. But be sure to map out your study plan well in advance, so you can be ready for test day. When you register, you will not only need to select your date, but also the testing location. In some areas, these seats are limited, so early registration is very important. Also, the later you register, the higher the fees, as the AAMC has a tiered registration fee schedule that is dependent on how far out from the test date you are registering for.

Can you change your MCAT test date?

While the AAMC does allow you to change your test date, you will have to pay a rescheduling fee. But plans sometimes have to change, and you do have the option to switch to a new test date. The AAMC site has very specific instructions on how to go about changing your test date. From a preparation perspective, it’s a good idea to have a test date in mind, and to work towards that goal. Building a solid MCAT study plan is the first step in selecting the best test date for yourself, so you can avoid having to change your test date.

When to start preparing for the MCAT

Preparing for the MCAT can take anywhere from 3 to 5 months (though you could do it in a shorter amount of time if you study every day). Generally speaking you will want to make sure you have completed your prerequisite coursework:

1 year of General Chemistry
1 year of Organic Chemistry (everyone’s favorite:))
1 year of Physics
1 year of General Biology
A semester of upper division Biochemistry
Coursework in Psychology and Sociology

And while we recommend between 300 and 350 hours of MCAT preparation, in many ways, you started preparing for the MCAT as soon as you began your premedical coursework. Some students like to get a jump start (and work at a more manageable pace) in reviewing the content that is tested on the exam, but you also don’t want to start too early to avoid burnout. If you are planning to begin medical school immediately following completion of your undergraduate degree, then you will need to start studying for the MCAT in your junior year, because you will be taking the MCAT by the end of spring in your junior year and starting the application process over the summer before your senior year. Of course, everyone has different timelines, but your MCAT preparation should begin approximately 18 months before the date you plan on beginning medical school. 

How to prepare for the MCAT

Kaplan has a wide range of options for MCAT preparation from books that will review all of the content, to study packs for getting practice with questions and full-length exams, to our comprehensive course and tutoring options. But keep in mind that the MCAT rewards you for knowing content and being able to apply it to the passages and questions it presents. Therefore, it is imperative to get a solid review of the tested content, but also to follow that up with acquiring the critical reasoning skills and practice of the application of that content, and the ability to execute and demonstrate that mastery in the timed and marathon conditions of the MCAT.